Who is a brahmana? And who can understand God?–SP

May 2, 2014 in Articles, Damaghosa Dasa by Nityananda Rama dasa


680706SB.MON Lectures
So this bhakti, it is not simply sentiment, but it is
to understand actually what is God. It is science of God. Otherwise
how it is said in the Bhagavad-gita that brahma-bhutah prasannatma?
One who has understood the Supreme, the Absolute, he is called
brahmana, brahma-bhutah. And the symptom is that… How can I
understand that he is a brahmana and has understood Brahman?
immediate answer is brahma-bhutah.
The test is, one who is completely
in knowledge of Brahman, the symptom will be prasannatma: he will be
always cheerful. There is no question of anxiety for him
. That is
. Prasannatma na socati na kanksati. There is no
lamentation; there is no desire. That is brahma-bhutah stage. There is
no [material] desire.
.. And next, by becoming into brahma-bhutah stage, what are other
symptoms? Samah sarvesu bhutesu: “Oh, he is equal to everyone.” Then,
when one has attained this perfection of life, then he can execute
devotional service
. Mad-bhaktim labhate param. And by that devotional
service, one can understand what is God.

680709SB.MON Lectures
So that is not the way. Tarko apratisthah. If you want to
understand the Absolute Truth by your arguments, it is not possible.
Tarko apratisthah srutayo vibhinnam. Srutayo means scriptures. If you
want to understand the Absolute Truth by studying different
scriptures… Just like the Hindus have got their different
scriptures. They have got four Vedas, eighteen Puranas, Mahabharata,
Ramayana, Vedanta-sutra, 108 Upanisads, so many, similarly, in other
countries also, they have got Bible or Buddhist literature or
Muhammadan. They are all scripture. But you cannot conclude about the
Absolute Truth simply by studying scriptures. It is not possible.
Srutayor vibhinnah. Vibhinnah means there are different… Every scripture is made according to the time, atmosphere, persons–so many
things there are conditional. Therefore we sometimes find differences
in one scripture from another. That is due to circumstances. So
Srutayor vibhinna nasau munir yasya matam na bhinnam. So far
philosophers, great thinkers, muni… Muni means great thinker. They
have got their different theses. One muni, thinker, or philosopher, is
trying to defeat another philosopher. This is going on. So that is
also not the way to understand the Absolute Truth; neither by argument
nor by study of scriptures, nor by following different kinds of
thinkers and philosophers. Why? Dharmasya tattvam nihitam guhayam. The
essence of spiritual realization is very secret and confidential.
Therefore Lord Krsna says in the Bhagavad-gita that “I am… Just now
I am speaking to you the most confidential part of knowledge.”
Sarva-guhyatamam. “Why You are speaking to me the most
confidential…?” “Because you are My very dear friend.” And what is
that? Sarva-dharman parityajya mam ekam saranam vraja: “Give up
everything. Simply surrender unto Me.”
So the Vedas indicate therefore that mahajano yena gatah sa
panthah. If you want to understand the Absolute Truth, then you have
to follow great personalities, great devotees. Just like in the
Western world, Lord Jesus Christ, you have to follow his principles.
This is all right, his Ten Commandments. But we do not follow. We
simply fight. “Oh, I am Christian, you are Hindu,” “I am Muhammadan,”
“I am this.” Nobody tries to follow. You see? That is not the way. You
have to follow. If you believe in certain personality… Of course,
not believe, not blind believing. He must be authority. Therefore in
the Srimad-Bhagavatam they have indicated twelve authorities.
According to Vedic version, there are twelve authorities, and one of
them is Prahlada Maharaja. The twelve authorities are,
svayambhur naradah sambhuh
kumarah kapilo manuh
prahlado janako bhismo
balir vaiyasakir vayam

This was explained by Yamaraja to his followers, that there are twelve
authorities. So if one has to know the secret of spiritual
realization, then one has to follow either of these twelve
So Prahlada Maharaja is one of the authorities.

Potatoes left over from last summer-which we now plant for next years harvest….
These are called “seed” potatoes and are still edible right now…this is how
one perpetuates the cycle of food –for self sufficiency.

below, is this section- with 9 rows of various types of spuds just put in today.

The other section by the greenhouse has around 130 different types of brassicas
plants which are cauliflower, brocolli, brussel sprouts and cabbage.

Who wants to live in the city when you can live like this???