9 important items of devotional service

November 26, 2015 in Articles, Damaghosa Dasa by Laksman dasa

Article by: Damagosha Dasa


Hare Krsna–

Below we have a few important things that any devotee should want to know about:

1.How to work without sinful reaction-no karma
2.Devotee is imperceptibly liberated
3.How to overcome the 4 defects-imperfect senses, illusion, mistakes and cheating
4.How to be Krsna Conscious- and then again be in maya —
5 One knows his eternal relationship with Krsna only- after liberation
6.Don’t talk of liberation until after we become transcendental to the three modes of nature
7.If we are not pleasing our spiritual master, then we are giving pain to the Lord in the heart”
8.Srila Prabhupada explains who is his disciple and who is above and who is within the modes of nature.
9. He explains how one can be a pure devotee- even as a neophyte

damaghosa das

Read the rest of this entry →

Chronology of the six goswamis

November 26, 2015 in Articles, Yasoda nandana Dasa by Laksman dasa

Compiled by Yasoda nandana dasa


Sri Chaitanya spent the first 24 years of his life in Navadvipa, West Bengal. Most of Chaitanya’s followers knew him since his early years. For example Advaita (1454-1550 CE), a leading figure among the Vaishnavas of Navadvipa from before Chaitanya’s birth, and Nityananda (1473-1545 CE), a charismatic and eccentric saint, arose to key roles in creating the future of Chaitanya’s tradition. Gadadhara Pandit and Vakresvara Pandit, Chaitanya’s companions since his childhood, Narahari Cakravartin of Sri Khanda, Nityananda’s wife Jahnava, along with many others, contributed their share in initiating the tradition.

Goswami Chronology

1489 Rupa Goswami appearance
1511 Jiva Goswami appearance
1515 Sri Chaitanya visits Vrindavan
1516 Rupa and Sanatana come to Vrindavan
1531 Raghunatha Bhatta Goswami comes to Vrindavan
1533 Sri Chaitanya Mahaprabhu disappearance
1535 Jiva Goswami comes to Vrindavan
1542 Damodara Deity, first seva puja
1542 Radha-Raman Deity, first seva puja
1545 Jiva Goswami buys land at Radha Kund
1552 Rupa Goswami writes Nectar of Devotion (Bhakti-rasamrta Sindhu)
1558 Jiva Goswami buys land at Seva Kunj/ Sanatana Goswami disappearance
1564 Rupa Goswami disappearance

Read the rest of this entry →

The Twelve Forests of Vraja

November 26, 2015 in Articles by Laksman dasa

Submitted by Hasti Gopala dasa, compiled by Agrani Krsna dasa


The Twelve Forests of Vraja
The Padma Purana describes twelve principal forests in Vraja situated east and west of Yamuna. On the east side are Madhuvana, Talavana, Kumudavana, Kamyavana, Bahulavana, Vrindavana, and Khadiravana. On the western side are Mahavana, Bhandiravana, Lohavana, Bhadravana and Baelvana. Krishna performed various pastimes in these twelve forests.
ramyam madhuvanam nama vishnu-sthanam anuttamam
yad-drshtva manujo devi sarvan kaman avapnuyat
There is a most enchanting place of Lord Vishnu called Madhuvana. By taking darshana of this holy place all one’s desires are fulfilled. (Text 347, Mathura-mahatmya)
The forest of Madhuvana is currently known as Maholi. This is the only forest where the Supreme Personality of Godhead performed His pastimes in all the four yugas. In the Satya-yuga, He killed Madhu demon. In the same yuga, He gave darshan as Lord Prshnigarbha to Dhruva Maharaja. In the Treta-yuga, Lord Shatrughna killed the demon Lavanasura, the son of demon Madhu. In the Dwapara-yuga, Krishna performed pastimes with the gopis and the cowherd boys and in the Kali-yuga Lord Chaitanya took a sacred bath in the Krishna-kunda situated here. This forest is called Madhuvana after the Supreme Lord Madhusudana. The word ‘madhu’ also means nectar. Krishna performed nectarean pastimes with gopis here. It is also said that profound amount of honey (madhu) was available in this forest. Krishna and Balarama would come here to drink this honey. And hence this is another reason why this forest is called as Madhuvana. Places of darshana include Dhruva tila, the cave of Madhu demon, Krishna-kunda and temple of Shatrughna.